2016 AMSSM Foundation Research Grant Recipients Announced

Congratulations to former fellows and current UF faculty; Dr. Edenfield and Dr. Herman, for your 2016 AMSSM Foundation Research Grants!!!!!!!!  That is 2 of the 3 total awards!


James R. “Jay” Clugston, MD, CAQSM
Associate Professor
Student Health Care Center

Congratulations to the recipients of the 2016 AMSSM Foundation Research Grant Awards The purpose of the Research Grant Award program is to foster original scientific investigations by members of AMSSM. Research proposals that investigate issues within the broad discipline of sports medicine will be considered, including clinical practice, injury prevention and rehabilitation, basic science, epidemiology and education.

Neeru Jayanthi, MD – The Relationship between a Novel Tennis Stroke Efficiency Rating (SER) and Injury Risk in Competitive Tennis Players
Daniel C. Herman, MD, PhD – Characterizing Increased Risk of Musculoskeletal Injury following Concussion – A New Paradigm for Musculoskeletal Injury Risk Evaluation, Prevention and Rehabilitation
Katherine Edenfield, MD – Cardiovascular Screening with History, Physical, ECG and Echo in College Athletes. 5-Year Results from Two Division I Institutions